The Electronic Publishing Trust (EPT) is launching the 2011 EPT Award for individuals in developing and transition countries who have made significant advances to the cause of open access and the free exchange of research findings.

Deadline for nominations is 30 November 2011.

Individuals or organizations may nominate themselves or others by sending a statement using the submission form for nominations to Derek Law, EPT Chair, at

Selection of a winner will be made by a panel of three EPT board nembers which will be chaired by Dr. Alma Swan, a well-known figure in open access advocacy.

The winner will be announced in January 2012.